Speakers call for consolidated efforts in implementation of women friendly laws in Sindh


Karachi (ENN/PR) Saira Shahliani, Pakistan Peoples Party’s member of provincial assembly Sindh and the convener of Women Parliamentary Caucus has called upon civil society organizations to strive together for effective implementation of existing women friendly laws as the rights of women can be protected and ensured.

While addressing the inauguration ceremony of establishment of Sindh Commission on the Status of Women (SCSW) office, organized by Strengthening Participatory Organization (SPO) here on Wednesday at a local hotel of Karachi, she focused on the mutual areas of cooperation between the Women Caucus and (SCSW) to support the women survivors.

Iram Khalid, Special Assistant to Chief Minister Sindh said that SCSW as corporate and autonomous body would serve the demand and supply side of the pro women legislation and implementation in Sindh.

While the Australian High Commission’s First Secretary Development Corporation Stacey Greenes praised the strong coordination of the government departments with civil society to serve the pro women laws in Sindh Province. Home Secretary Sindh Qazi Shahid Parvez was present on the occasion.

Chairperson of the SCSW Nuzhat Shirin told that SCSW would develop and implement the three years strategic plan of actions to meet the demands of vulnerable women in Sindh by making three to four model women friendly districts in Sindh.

The Sindh Commission on the Status of Women Bill, 2015 was passed by the Provincial Assembly of Sindh on 6th of April, 2015 and assented by the Governor of Sindh on 12th May, 2015 and published as an Act of the Legislature of Sindh.

Chief Executive SPO, Saleem Malik welcomed the participants and appreciated the civil society and government joint exertion to strengthen the great institution like SCSW.

Kalpna Devi member of SPO general body, Shazia Shaheen, Ishrat Jabeen, Program Director Trocaire were among the key speakers; while human rights trainer Iqbal Detho, Dr Qarar Abbasi, Dr Ayoub Shaikh, Deputy Superintendent of police Shahla, Farhat Parveen, Mustafa Baloch, Raheema Panhwar, Fareeda Shaikh, Malka Khan, Jamil Junejo and others were part of the ceremony.

About Author

Leave A Reply