Pakistan’s most representative media organisations vow to resist curbs on free media


Islamabad (ENNS/PR) A joint meeting of media organisations namely All Pakistan Newspaper Society (APNS), Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE, PBA and PFUJ (Burna, Dastoor and Workers) has unanimously rejected the decision of the Federal Government to set up special media tribunals.
The meeting held at Islamabad attended by heads of all the media organisations expressed their profound concern over the attempts by the federal government to give formal shape to curb the media freedoms in addition to the increasing restrictions on media by the concerned quarters of the government.
The joint meeting called upon the Government to immediately withdraw the anti-media decision. It was decided to take appropriate actions to protest and resist the move and a standing committee was formed comprising of the heads of the organisations to take further actions.
The meeting was attended by senior representatives of the media organisations and journalists including Hameed Haroon President APNS, Arif Nizami President CPNE, Shakeel Masood Chairman PBA, Mubarak Zeb PFUJ (Burna), Nawaz Raza PFUJ (Dastoor), Pervez Shoukat PFUJ (Workers), Dr Jabbar Khattak, Secretary General CPNE, Sarmad Ali, Syed Zafar Abbas (Chief Editor Daily Dawn), Mujeeb-ur-Rehman Shami, Sardar Khan Niazi, Asif Zuberi, and others.

About Author

Leave A Reply