Murad Shah reelected CM Sindh, Mehmood Khan as KP CM


PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Mehmood Khan was elected Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister and Syed Murad Ali Shah of Pakistan Peoples Party as Chief Minister Sindh for second time on Thursday.

Mehmood Khan, CM KP

The PTI nominee defeated Mian Nisar Gul of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal as he secured 77 votes. The MMA nominee received 33 votes during balloting at the KP Assembly.

Mehmood was a surprise entrant in the KP CM race and was recommended by former provincial chief minister Pervaiz Khattak for the post.

Mehmood, who is the PTI Malakand Division president, was elected member of the provincial assembly from PK-9, Swat in the 2013 and 2018 general elections.

Shah received 97 votes while his opponent Shaheryar Mahar could get 61 votes. PPP had 96 members in Sindh Assembly. During the election of CM 158 votes were polled without any rejected vote.

About Author

Leave A Reply